Artist #7: Sylvia K

14 Feb

What can I say about Sylvia? This lady is one of my favourite current artists. Her illustrations are sometimes humorous, sometimes heartbreaking but always charmingly quirky. She’s got a distinctive style that always lets me know, that’s a Sylvia K piece. Through designing some of Amanda Palmer’s official tour posters and t-shirts, as well as animating music videos, Sylvia’s certainly made a name for herself as a unique artist to keep an eye on. Be sure to treat your eyes to the rest of her work on the links sprinkled throughout.

– – – – –

What first interested you in art?
My dad is a graphic designer so back in the days, when I was a toddler, we would have all kinds of art supplies around the house, and I guess I just had to get my tiny, chubby fingers on them and draw for hours on the carpet.

Did you get much encouragement to continue or make a career out of it?
My parents and relatives used to tell me I was really gifted, but that is what I suppose most parents tell to their children.

Have you studied art or are you self taught? Do you have any plans to study it?
I am pretty much self taught but I am getting more and more interested in actually studying art.

Where do you get your inspiration from?
The most random things inspire me. Things like snow, the smell of rain, red rubber boots walking in the fog. Ethnic food and random faces I cross on the subway. It’s hard to really pin it down, sometimes a drawing just pops up in my head and I try to get it on paper as faithfully as possible…inevitably, something in the process always gets lots, but I prefer to focus on the feeling evoked by it. Most of my drawings are terribly naive and melancholic…

Who are some of your favourite artists?
My favourite painter ever is Edward Hopper. Nobody can depict loneliness as well as he did. As for illustrators, they’re really too many to name, but my favourites are Jen Corace and Italian artist Baronciani.

What are your hopes for your artwork? Do you see it in your future as a career or just a hobby?
I’m still trying to figure out whether I could possibly make a career out of illustration, or if it will just keep on being one of my favourite ways to pass the time. Sometimes, I just wish that more people could get to see my art…

Which of your pieces are you most proud of?
I really have no idea. I quite like the Lady Gaga series but also all the drawings of sad kids and the deer trees and experimentation with vintage cloth. It’s quite ironic that often a piece that I am extremely proud of isn’t that well received (well, on my flickr and facebook pages, I mean) while some others I’m not so fond of are quite successful.

 

How would you describe your style?
Childish yet fresh.

 

What’s your favourite medium to work in?
I always draw in ink, on paper… though then I scan the drawing and work on it with photoshop. Everyone keeps telling me I should invest on a tablet but I don’t think I’m quite ready to part with paper, honestly…there’s something so delicate about it.

 

Are you working on anything at the moment?
My project for 2011 is to illustrate a children’s book. I still have to figure out whether I’ll also be writing it, or illustrate someone else’s story… I know that I want it to be a children’s book for intelligent kids but also for grown ups who miss the melancholy of their childhood years.

 

What drew you to the people and characters you base a lot of your work on?

Music used to play a major role in my art…I started drawing my favourite bands and then often I would interact with them and it made me ridiculously happy. I saw it as a way of giving back to them, because their music was so important to me. Now I get more and more inspired by circumstances and by the people who make my life a fairy tale.

 

 

Can you give me an idea of your creative process?
I often get struck by an idea (literally, as if someone threw a tin can at the back of my head) and then I am in a sort of frenzy because I want to make it ”real” as fast as I possibly can. Often this happens when I’m just walking outside, so I scribble everything down, with lengthy written descriptions regarding what I want to draw, and then start sketching on paper as soon as I get home.

2 Responses to “Artist #7: Sylvia K”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Artist #7: Sylvia K « Bewitched, Bothered & Bespectacled -- Topsy.com - February 15, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by indilflo and sylviaaa_k, Sarah Louise. Sarah Louise said: Artist on bloggie today is the incomparable @sylviaaa_k! http://t.co/4fs5FDF #art #interview #AmandaPalmer #VermillionLies #LadyGaga […]

  2. Artist #11: Lucy Coombs « Bewitched, Bothered & Bespectacled - March 8, 2011

    […] are some of your favourite artists? A few friends, Sylvia K, Audrey Bishop and Robin (who you’ve already interviewed), as well as Hieronymus Bosch, Dali, […]

Leave a Reply

