Artist #3: Robin a.k.a. Raliel

28 Jan

Anyone interested in art and spends a lot of time online – i.e. folks like me – will surely come across many talented people. One such person I’ve come across is today’s featured artist, Robin. He’s one of those people that never fails to amaze and each piece of his I’ve seen really makes an impact. And makes you more than a little jealous. His work speaks for itself, but I will add that he creates some stunning Amanda Palmer related art and is very much on the radar of the almighty Neil Gaiman. Just putting that out there.

– – – – –

What first interested you in art?

Hmmm. I think I always have been but I spent alot of time growing up around quite creative people and took an interest in galleries and exhibitions when still a child

Did you get much encouragement to continue or make a career out of it?

The only real encouragement I get is from friends and internet accquaintances…not sure if i am a pro artist yet at all even though it is my life.

Have you studied art or are you self taught? Do you have any plans to study it?

Studied art all through school and college and went on to study art at Winchester School of Art many years ago…interestingly I do not think I gained much from the experience and most of the techniques I know are self taught.

Where do you get your inspiration from?

All sorts of things, music, literature, other artists work… even random things I see in junk shop windows or on the street. My main defined influences would have to be the Pre-raphealites, AfP (of course!…she has inspired me to be creative sooo much) and the literary works of H.P.Lovecraft. Also medieval Ikon art

Who are some of your favourite artists?

Da Vinci, Blake, Rosetti, Waterhouse.. Syme..Harry Clarke, Byrne Jones, to name but a few there are also many talented new artists who I have encountered on the internet via twitter, etc.

What are your hopes for your artwork? Do you see it in your future as a career or just a hobby?

I see it as a vital part of who I am and hopefully it will eventually be a financially viable way of living too!

Which of your pieces are you most proud of?

Hmmm it changes alot… The masks I did for the AfP show were great as so many people took part in making them come alive but at the moment I think my series of china dolls is giving me alot of satisfaction.

 

How would you describe your style?

I would have to fall into the category of macabre art generally. Most of my work is somewhat odd if not downright monsterous…

 

What made you focus more on that area more than another?

It is just the way of things really. I suppose it probably says alot about me as a person.

What’s your favourite medium to work in?

I use all sorts of things all the time and love glass engraving, though I have not done any for quite a while. Latex, milliput, clay, foam, acrylic…. Oh, I do love painting on wood rather than canvas!

Are you working on anything at the moment?

Several things actually. Making a few more Marmite demons as soon as empty jars arrive, several paintings (all very medieval and lovecraftian) and I need to get on with some puppets soon.

What drew you to the themes or characters you base a lot of your work on?

I think it has to do with my obsession with the Other and outsider influences and my love of theatricality

Can you give me an idea of your creative process?

If it is a painting I will often start with just a blank bit of wood and then start sketching into it some ideas then I will reference source images for any figure or background and just get going. I do not keep a sketch book and wish that I did! Sculpture and puppet work tends to come from images or stories and then built upon….

One Response to “Artist #3: Robin a.k.a. Raliel”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Artist #11: Lucy Coombs « Bewitched, Bothered & Bespectacled - March 8, 2011

    […] are some of your favourite artists? A few friends, Sylvia K, Audrey Bishop and Robin (who you’ve already interviewed), as well as Hieronymus Bosch, Dali, van Gogh, Degas, […]

Leave a Reply

