Artist #2: Brooke Hunter

25 Jan

Today’s artist feature is Brooke Hunter; tattooist, sculptor, comic artist –  an apparent jill-of-all-trades with some great drawing skills. I could only post a few of her pieces so I tried to include a variety of styles and media. She’s got so many awesome tattoos you should take a peek at though – Sandman,  Harley Quinn or Ghost Rider anyone? Not only that, but she’s put ink to the marvellous Zoe Boekbinder’s skin on more than one occasion!

– – – – –

 What first interested you in art? 

 I’m not sure, I think it was involuntary.  I used to get into trouble for drawing in class, at the table, in the car, in church, etc.

Did you get much encouragement to continue or make a career out of it? 

From people who weren’t my parents, yes.  From my parents, they wanted me to go into music or science or something else, but ‘art’ wasn’t really considered a lucrative career at my house.

Have you studied art or are you self taught?

I failed two art classes in high school, thought about taking it in college, but opted for theater instead because the art department seemed kind of elitist, and frankly I didn’t think I needed to be taught how to draw since my work was superior to most of what I saw students doing.

Do you have any plans to study it? 

At forty years old, I am lucky I can still practice it.  I do a lot of independent study, but I really don’t see a need to ever see the inside of a classroom again.

Where do you get your inspiration from? 

I assume a muse of some kind?  But I have never seen her.  At work, my inspiration is cash, and giving the customer whatever they want.

Who are some of your favourite artists? 

Michaelangelo is probably at the top.  da Vinci wasn’t a bad artist, but his career and body of work was not that impressive, really.  I could write backwards with both hands since I was a kid.  it isn’t that big a deal.  I also like a lot of the classic sculptors, but I am picky about whom I do like.

What are your hopes for your artwork? Do you see it in your future as a career or just a hobby? 

I use it for a career right now, and have these past twenty years or so.  Other than tattooing, I’d love to think some of the other stuff I do would be worth something, but I’m not sure how that would translate into a career these days.  Although I’m sure pinstriping and airbrushing could be put to cash gain, but right now that’s a hobby.
 

Which of your pieces are you most proud of?

Out of the thousands I’ve put on people, I am really not sure.  Out of stuff I have done on my own, I made and carved a campaign box I’m rather fond of.


How would you describe your style? 

What style do you want to see?  I dont really feel like I have a style, I think of it more as doing what needs to be done.

What made you focus more on that area more than another? 

It made me obscene amounts of cash.

What’s your favourite medium to work in?

Sculpture.  It’s more for fun than anything but I’ve started to work in stone which is amazing.

Are you working on anything at the moment?

I’m converting our old dining table into an enormous chess set, with stone pieces.  It should have inlaid ebony bits, and bone.  Should take awhile.

Can you give me an idea of your creative process?

Not really, I have no idea what it is.  See a visual need, then fill it, I guess.

How did you get your career start?

I was painting murals around town, and making no money at it and a waitress at a bar I was doing a line drawing for their letterhead told me about a local tattooist who was looking for an apprentice.  Two days later I was managing his shop and doing maybe twenty-thirty tattoos a day.  The guy is lucky I picked it up fast; he wasn’t looking for anyone to teach, he was looking for a warm body to make as much money as possible.  I worked for him for three months, then opened my own shop.

2 Responses to “Artist #2: Brooke Hunter”

  1. Ann January 26, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Brooke is amazing and I would really like to vote for her but can’t find the button. Maybe this will count?

    • Sarah Elliott January 26, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

      Do you mean vote for the blog post? You just click on the number of stars you give it out of 5. It’s just a rating thing, there’s no competition if that’s what you mean.

Leave a Reply

