Artist #1: Adam Hughes

23 Jan

As promised, here is the first in the series of interviews I have planned to let loose on this little bloggie here. I’ve been in touch with artists whose work I admire, from many different styles and fields of art.  These interviews should act as a profile of them and feature some of their oh so pretty pieces of work. Basically, look forward to all manner of aesthetically pleasing fun, plus some words thrown in for good measure.

Away we go –

I thought I’d kick off the series with Adam Hughes, comic book artist known for his realistic approach, stunning covers and pin-up style heroines. His impressive body of work includes Tomb Raider, Star Wars, Justice League of America and, most notably,  Catwoman, Wonder Woman and Zatanna.

 – – – – –

What first interested you in art?

As a child?  It was coming up with adventures for my favourite characters.  It was like playing with toys, only on paper.

 

Did you get much encouragement to continue or make a career out of it?

Very much.  I was never told I couldn’t be an artist, and my mother made sure I had pencil & paper…much like a political prisoner!

Have you studied art or are you self taught?

I’m self-taught.

Do you have any plans to study it?

Some day I’d like to!

Where do you get your inspiration from?

Wherever I find it.  Sometimes it’s from perusing my favourite artists’ works… sometimes it’s from something I’ll see walking down the street.  It’s dangerous to only have one specific source of inspiration – it might let you down some day.

Who are some of your favourite artists?

Alphonse Mucha, Norman Rockwell, Drew Struzan, Mike Mignola, Kevin Nowlan…. too many to name.

What are your hopes for your artwork?

Too keep evolving and growing…. also, to keep using it as a means to support my family.

Do you see it in your future as a career or just a hobby?

LOL; it’s been my career since 1987.  I’d love to win the lottery and make it just a hobby again, however.

Which of your pieces are you most proud of?

The Art Nouvea Slave Leia… My cover runs on Wonder Woman and Catwoman

How would you describe your style?

Naturalistic, with a dash of old-school sensibilities.

What made you focus more on that area more than another?

My love of classic American illustration form the early 20th Century.

What’s your favourite medium to work in?

Digital.  I feel most at home colouring my work in Photoshop.  Also, I have a hand injury that starts to ache if I’ve been too long at the drawing table; holding a mouse doesn’t make it ache as quickly as gripping a pencil or brush.

Are you working on anything at the moment?

Too much!  I’m now the regular cover artist on DC Comics’ Zatanna… I have several Superman covers to do, including Action Comics #900… I’m doing a cover for Imagine FX as we speak/type…. designing more statues for Sideshow Collectibles… I’m also writing and drawing a short story for DC Comics; trying to get back into doing interiors.

What drew you to the fandoms or characters you base a lot of your work on?

Well, I’m lucky in that I get to draw, for a living, many of the characters I enjoy as a fan.  But the things that drew me to them are commerce: they are either assignments or commissions.

Can you give me an idea of your creative process?

I’ll start by doing a concept sketch for the art director.  When the final design is approved, I’ll start sketching the final design in my sketchbook or on some scrap paper.  I’ll gather reference at this point, if it helps the illustration: lighting anatomy, textures (clothing & hair).  Once I get the art looking the way I want, I transfer it to a fresh piece of illustration board or drawing paper: my drawing process using tears the hell out of the paper (pencilling, erasing, ad infinitum), so I like to ink or do marker washes on paper that hasn’t been chewed up by too much pencilling.  When the physical art is done, I scan it into Adobe Photoshop, and then colour it digitally..

How did you get your career start?

By showing my art to professional artists at comic-book conventions, getting advice and critiques.  One of them who owned a studio offered me some work, and it’s been pretty much non-stop work ever since.

– – – – –

Thank you again for your time, Adam.

And here’s some handy links if you’d like to see more of his work –

deviantART    twitter

One Response to “Artist #1: Adam Hughes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Artist #1: Adam Hughes « Bewitched, Bothered & Bespectacled -- Topsy.com - January 24, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by MichelleDeniseNorton, Eric Michaels. Eric Michaels said: Artist #1: Adam Hughes « Bewitched, Bothered & Bespectacled http://bit.ly/i7GntL […]

Leave a Reply

